Register for the Live Webcast

Reserve your spot today. Please fill out the form below to register and get access for viewing the live webcast "'Prof. B. N. Dhawan Oration' and CME on Guidelines in Biomedical Ethics, SGPGIMS, Lucknow"
Topic : “ Guidelines in Biomedical Ethics”
Date: 9th Dec 2017 
Already registered? Login

Prof. B. N. Dhawan Oration' and CME on Guidelines in Biomedical Ethics
Date: Saturday, 9th December, 2017
Venue: Telemedicine Auditorium, SGPGIMS, Lucknow

09:00 AM - 09:30 AM




09:30 AM - 10:00 AM


Dr Rakesh Kapoor, Director, SGPGIMS




Dr Vasantha Muthuswamy, Former Senior Deputy DG, ICMR and FERCI Chair


Dr O P Asthana, Chairman, IEC, SGPGIMS




Dr Vinita Agrawal, Member Secretary, IEC, SGPGIMS


Felicitation of Mrs Juhi Dhawan- On behalf of Late Prof. BN

Presided by Padama Shri Dr Nitya Anand






10:00 AM - 10:45 AM

Late Professor B. N. Dhawan oration

Dr Vasantha Muthuswamy



'Evolution of Bioethics Guidelines in India'

Former Senior Deputy Director General, ICMR,





10:45 AM - 11:15 AM

Memoirs of Prof BN Dhawan by: Dr Alok Dhawan, Dr Nitya Anand, Dr Vasantha Muthuswamy

11:15 AM - 11:45 AM

High Tea




Session - I






11.45-AM-12:00 PM

Journey of IEC, SGPGIMS, Lucknow

Dr Surendra Srivastava and Dr Subhash

Dr UK Misra, Head (Retd.), Dept. Neurology,



Yadav, SGPGIMS, Lko.


12:00 PM - 12:40 PM

Accreditation of Ethics Committees in India - Current Scenario

Dr. Urmilla Thatte, Prof. & Head, Dept. of

Dr Madhu Dikshit, Ex-Director, CDRI, Lko.



Pharmacology, KEM, Mumbai

Dr Vinita Das, Head, Dept. of Obs. and Gynaecology,

12:40 PM - 01:10 PM

Role and Responsibilities of Institute Ethics Committees

Dr. O. P. Asthana, Chairman, IEC, SGPGI,

KGMU, Lko.



(Retd.Chief Scientist, Clinical and




Experimental Medicine Div., CDRI


01:10 PM - 02:00 PM





Session - II


02:00 PM - 02:40 PM

ICMR Guidelines - 2017 and its implementation

Dr. Roli Mathur, Head, ICMR Bioethics Unit

Dr Alok Dhawan, Director, IITR, Lko.



NCDIR, Bangalore.

Dr Sonia Nityanand, Head, Hematology, SGPGI




Dr AN Srivastava, Era LMCH, Lko

02:40 PM - 03:20 PM

Regulatory Issues in Clinical Trials

Dr P Paul Kumaran, Deputy Director, NIRT,






Session - III


03:20 PM - 04:20 PM

Panel Disscusion: Guidelines and procedures for conducting

Moderators: Dr P Paul Kumaran, Deputy

Dr. Vasantha Muthuswamy, Dr. R N Mishra, Dr. O.


clinical trials

Director, NIRT, Madurai.

P. Asthana, Justice Vishnu Sahai, Dr Roli Mathur,



Dr Chandiswar Nath, Retd. Chief Scientist

Dr RC Ahuja.



CSIR-CDRI, Lucknow.


04:20 PM - 04:30 PM

Vote of Thanks